New chairman of Supervisory Board Anne Frank House


Jan. 10, 2023 — Wouter Koolmees has been appointed chairman of the Anne Frank House’s Supervisory Board, effective 1 January 2023. He was minister of Social Affairs and Employment in the third Rutte cabinet and has been President of NS, Dutch Railways, since 1 November 2022.

Wouter Koolmees: ‘The Anne Frank House makes an important contribution to countering antisemitism and other forms of discrimination and promoting democracy. These are subjects I made a strong case for in government and will continue to advocate for as the chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Anne Frank House.’

Wouter Koolmees succeeds Ernst Hirsch Ballin, retired professor and politician, who is stepping down after serving the maximum 12-year period.

The Supervisory Board supervises the Foundation’s policy and general course of affairs and assists the Executive Board with advice. The Supervisory Board is unpaid and meets at least four times a year.